Board of Directors

Board Overview

Since 1967, county officials from across the state and representing every elected county office have volunteered to serve on the governing body of the Arizona Association of Counties (ACCo). Directors are selected by their peers to hold one of three types of positions on the Board of Directors.

First, the officers of the association are elected at large by the membership of the association at its annual conference to one-year terms. Typically, officers progress through the chairs of the officer posts until becoming President of the association and eventually Immediate Past President.

Second, the elected county officials from each of Arizona's 15 counties elect one county elected official to serve as their geographic county representative to the board. County representatives serve a two-year term of office (odd then even).

Finally, each county elected officeholder from across the state meets frequently with their peers from other Arizona counties. We call these informal and formal associations of county officer groups "affiliates". Each year, the affiliates identify a representative of their peer group, who represents that county elected office on the AACo Board for a two-year term (even then odd).

Executive Officers

  • The Honorable Michael McCord, Pinal County Treasurer  - President
  • The Honorable Sarah Benatar, Coconino County Treasurer  - First Vice President
  • The Honorable David Clouse, Navajo County Sheriff  - Second Vice President
  • The Honorable Dustin Williams, Pima County School Superintendent - Third Vice President
  • Vacant - Immediate Past President

2022 Directors

County Representatives

  • Apache- The Honorable Jay Yellowhorse, Justice of the Peace
  • Cochise- The Honorable Cathy Traywick, Treasurer
  • Coconino- The Honorable Patty Hansen, Recorder
  • Gila- The Honorable Roy Sandoval, School Superintendent
  • Graham- The Honorable Heidi Torrio, Clerk of the Superior Court
  • Greenlee- The Honorable Diane Berube, Treasurer
  • La Paz- The Honorable Richard Garcia, Recorder
  • Maricopa- The Honorable Steve Watson, School Superintendent
  • Mohave- The Honorable Jeanne Kentch, Assessor
  • Navajo- The Honorable Brad Carlyon, Attorney
  • Pima- The Honorable Beth Ford, Treasurer
  • Pinal- The Honorable Douglas Wolf, Assessor
  • Santa Cruz- The Honorable Suzie Sainz, Recorder and The Honorable Liz Gutfahr, Treasurer
  • Yavapai- The Honorable Donna McQuality, Superior Court Clerk
  • Yuma- The Honorable Angela Moreno, Treasurer

Affiliate Representatives

  • Assessors- The Honorable Judd Simmons, Yavapai County
  • Attorneys-The Honorable Bill Ring, Coconino County 
  • Clerks of the Superior Court- Valerie Wyant, Coconino County
  • Constables- The Honorable Luke Palmer, Maricopa County 
  • Justices of the Peace- The Honorable Michele Reagan, Maricopa County
  • Recorders- The Honorable Stephen Richer, Maricopa County
  • School Superintendents- Jacqui Clay, Cochise County
  • Sheriffs- The Honorable David Rhodes, Yavapai County
  • Supervisors- The Honorable Jean Bishop, Mohave County
  • Treasurers - The Honorable Kari Lopez, Navajo County

National Association of Counties (NACo) Board Representative

  • The Honorable Brad Carlyon, Navajo County Attorney